Rain me not

Its raining. Toopie and I are looking gloomily at the day outside. It’s all dark and we don’t like dark. We are lovers of the sun and this gloomy wetness does not fare well with us. A naughty burning sun sending heat waves to irritate us or a warm hug from a romantic ray is our idea of a day.

Why does it have to rain? Other than the obvious, precipitation. As a kid, I used to think that rain meant that God is crying because of all the sadness he sees. Thus rain made me very awkward. Soon enough I learnt about the sun and the clouds. However the rain always fell in the awk.

Sigh

Well here we are staring out of the window, hoping the rain would wash away the old. That the sun would beacon a new day. Not that what we have now is bad. But we have grown out of it. Familiarity is unfamiliar to us. We can’t make a home at these shores. But the rain has made us park here more than we intended to. We feel like sunflowers today.

So God, we hope you get better of your sadness.

Babes will die,

Helpless we’ll lie,

The rain washes away no sin,

Just the stupor we have been in.

Cannot stop,

The road is all we got,

Have to go, have to go, have to go,

With our grief on tow.

Have to go, have to go, have to go,

The sun, we follow.

Have to go, have to go, have to go

Away from these wet blows.

Have to go, have to go, have to go

Now.

“I went to bed and woke in the middle of the night thinking I heard someone cry, thinking I myself was weeping, and I felt my face and it was dry.

Then I looked at the window and thought: Why, yes, it’s just the rain, the rain, always the rain, and turned over, sadder still, and fumbled about for my dripping sleep and tried to slip it back on.”
― Ray BradburyGreen Shadows, White Whale: A Novel of Ray Bradbury’s Adventures Making Moby Dick with John Huston in Ireland

One thought on “Rain me not

  1. Pingback: Is it your turn? | Jacqui Senn

Leave a Reply

